The Art of Trying Something New

*Note: I wrote this post last night at I was coming home on the subway.

A few months ago I wrote a post about the power of trying something new. Well, tonight I did something I have been dying to do since I touched down in Manhattan two years ago.

I took a creative writing class.

I spend a lot of time writing for my 9-to-5, but none of it is creative. It’s all a lot of fact-based writing. I enjoy it, but I miss being creative.

Tonight I got to create my own world.  We did several writing exercises:  I got to write one truth and a lie (then have my classmates guess which was which). I wrote  a short essay about what I hate (cilantro). Then I got to write a piece about an invention of my own creation ( a language interpretation device).

I loved making up stories just because and not having to double-check names because I made up the damn names!

Tonight was awesome. It was freeing. It was powerful. And you know why?

Because I actually DID something.

I’ve asked you all before, and I’m asking again, What’s on your “try” list? Do you have any plans to try something new this year?

Go forth and be fab.
Everyone in NYC is familiar with the ubiquitous yellow, Gotham Writers workshop fliers pasted all over the city.

  1. #1 by Rhona on January 16, 2011 - 3:00 pm

    Good for you on the writing course. That actually sounds very fun.
    On my try list is: try to find a new job in my chosen field. It will take lots and lots and lots of hard work but it will be worth it in the end.

    • #2 by amberinnyc on January 20, 2011 - 2:30 pm

      The only adage I really believe is: “Anything worth having, is worth working hard for.” You go find your new gig!

  2. #3 by Shenee on January 16, 2011 - 11:52 pm

    Amber J!

    This sounds great! I am obsessed with creative writing so I loved reading about this. I also miss taking classes in college. It’s been too long since I have been in that environment.

    Things on my “to try” list

    — Taking a cooking class
    — Going to a comedy show — live
    — Taking a dance class

    Boring but still to-do!

    I would love to hear more about your path. Did you just graduate? I will continue to dig through entries to find out more.

    I am excited that you will be going to #WDS. I am loving connected with people who are going. I see you are on twitter but I am not able to make the jump from this site, what’s your screenname?

    Let me know if I can do anything for you, gir! am happy to help out a fellow world-shaker! We have to help each other out, you know.

    • #4 by amberinnyc on January 20, 2011 - 2:34 pm

      Hey!

      Your t-do list is so not boring! I love it. I would love to take a cooking class. I really want to learn the foundations of it all so I can come up with some healthy creations that still taste like something!

      I need to add a little more about my bg to this site. I’m working on a redesign now, so it will all be coming soon.

      And I can be found at @amberjadams on Twitter. Have you booked a place to stay in Portland yet? I just realized yesterday that I really need to get on that!

  3. #5 by Yogi on January 19, 2011 - 4:46 pm

    To do list for this year:

    #1 dating events and events to expand my social circle…I’ve done two speed dating events so far and I actually went out on my own….normally I just have to have at least one other person with me..but it was easier than I thought to get in there and be sociable.

    #2 go see the lion king (that’s been on my to do list for the past several years) and I get to cross it off next week!! (thanks to you Amber J for introducing me to that group)

    #3 try country line dancing

    #4 teach myself photoshop

    #5 take my video editing classes! (i’m sure I’ll have more to add to that list later)

    • #6 by amberinnyc on January 20, 2011 - 2:34 pm

      Good list Yogi!

      And I’m confident you can do it all. Country line dancing is fun. I used to do it with my mom back in the day.

Leave a Reply

