The YEAR without FEAR


I read a lot of blogs and books that fall into this genre loosely defined as “lifestyle design.” Of all the topics they cover ( 9-5 escape tactics, traveling, ect.), I’ve noticed that subject matter about “fear” or getting past “fear” rather, seems to be the most prevalent.

I’m inspired to wonder, what is it that we fear so much? What exactly are we afraid of? What is your fear?

Personally, I am terrified of putting myself out there. I’ve never been comfortable really telling people all the things I want to happen in my life. Part of that is because I know you have to guard your dreams, but a big chunk of my feelings come from not wanting to disappoint anyone. How crazy is that? So caught up in worrying about disappointing others that I willingly disappoint myself.

I’m sick of feeling this way, of choking on my aspirations. I’m not really big on New Year’s resolutions, but I do believe in giving every year a theme. So, this is what I’m doing about it-and I would love you to join me.

I’m declaring 2011 as “The Year To Step Through The Fear”

Notice I said step through, not get over. Key difference.  I think “getting over” the fear comes in time after plenty of practice of stepping through.  You can’t get over anything automatically, or overnight. But you can take one step. Then take another step. Keep on steppin’.

This year I plan on doing the things that terrify me-both professionally and personally.  If it scares me, then that means I need to do it. Wholeheartedly.

Let’s do it.

  1. #1 by James on January 6, 2011 - 8:48 am

    Nice….i think its always great to talk about and express your fears….it helps to deal with them. My worst fear is simple the fear of failure…..not that im afraid to fail or try but its more like the fear of not being successful….that scares me to DEATH!

  2. #2 by Jess J. on January 9, 2011 - 7:51 pm

    Yay! I believe in courage :-) I think that fear is given far too much power and grew to hate it, then I realized that hate wasn’t the answer either. I had to neutralize it to take the power away. I don’t act in spite of fear nor because of it. I simply do the things that I want to do and that feel right. That’s seemed to work a bit better at least for me.

Leave a Reply

