What do you LOVE and HATE about your life?

Happy Friday!

As I mentioned a few posts ago, I am traveling through my home state of Tennessee. Right now I’m writing from Clarksville, TN and in a few hours I will be on my way to Nashville to hang out with my friends from college.

Before I get back on the road, I wanted to drop a post that will hopefully have you pondering all weekend long.  I told you all that I am participating in the “31 Day Reset Your Life” challenge over on the Happy Black Woman blog.  The premise is to examine your life in some kind of way every day.  From life maps, to envisioning an my idea of the perfect day, we have done a lot of introspection.

Now, I want to share one of those exercises with you. On day two, we were asked to create a list of things we LOVE and HATE (strongly dislike, if you prefer) about specific areas of our life.  Let me tell you, it was an eye-opening exercise! The seven areas we examined were:

Lifestyle: (where you live, how you live)
Work (you job at the moment, career, ect.)
Education
Finances
Health
Family
Relationships  (friends, significant others)

Your list can be as long or as short as you want it to be. For example, here is what I had to say about two areas of my life: my health and my relationships.

Health
-Loves: That I am healthy. That all of my faculties work. That I enjoy exercising and I am aware of the impact the food choices I make will have on my body.
Hates: That I fell off my exercise routine in May and never got back on it. That I did not complete my goal of doing a half marathon this year. That the gym is so expensive. That I base a lot of my food choices on how I feel emotionally.

Relationships
Loves: That I have several friends I can trust and count on. That my friends are people who always make me laugh.
Hates: That I am only a semi-part of my most important friends lives because I live so far away. That I don’t have more friends who are into the concept of lifestyle design to keep me encouraged on this journey. That I don’t open myself up to the possibility of dating more. That it is so hard to make friends you can count on in New York.

You get the idea. What are you waiting for? Grab a sheet of paper, and get to thinking about the things you love and hate about your life. Keep the list in a safe place, because on Monday I will reveal what the next step is in the process.

Know someone who could benefit from this exercise? Please past this post on!

  1. Push Past the Limit: How eliminating certain beliefs can help you push forward « The Fab Life Project

Leave a Reply

