Get Over the Hump

I usually aim to update with new posts on Mondays and Thursdays, but there is a certain energy that Friday has. It’s the day you are inspired both to work and play hard. It’s the time when you get strategic how you are going to get some things poppin’ in your life.

It’s also the perfect time to ponder this quote from Bruce Lee: “If you always put limit on everything you do, physical or anything else. It will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them.”

One of my friends had this quote as her Facebook status this week. I instantly hit the “like” button. Who knew Bruce Lee was up on his advice game like this?  For the sake of vibing with the natural motivating feeling Friday brings, let’s break this quote down:

If you always put limit on everything you do, physical or anything else. It will spread into your work and into your life.

How many times have you told yourself you can’t do something? Seriously. How many times have you suppressed your dreams because of the little voice in your head? I know I can’t be the only one.  I write about the little voice a lot because I know getting past that isn’t something you just do once. In scary situations (when we are facing opportunities to take on the world) we use our inner cave chic feelings. I’ve talked about using your animal instincts before, but they work in other ways besides letting you know when you really like something. They also invoke that fight or flight response that allows you to tell yourself that you could never do something.  We are trying to protect ourselves from disappointment, but ultimately we have to get over the hump. When we get over the hump we realize…

There are no limits.

During the Black Girls Rock awards show, Raven Symone said something that struck me: “I like it when people tell me no. I just say, well, you must not be the person I need to be speaking to.”  It’s true. Being told “no” just means you have to figure out another way to do things. I vowed would remember Raven’s  line the next time I caught myself listening to the little voice that says, “I can’t”  On the days when I feel like I want to run away from everything, I tell myself “Hey, as long as you are alive there is nothing I can’t achieve in some form-or-another.  Screw limits.

And the finale:
There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them.

Plateaus are those moments when you feel stuck. When it’s terrifying to make a choice because you are afraid of choosing wrong. It’s the times when you are scared that you can mess up your entire life by making a wrong choice now.  I get it. I’ve been there. Heck, I could wake up in the morning and be there-in the valley of twentysomething angst and despair .  I sulk about it for five minutes then I force myself to move on. What other choice do we have but to move forward? We have to keep pushing over the hump to find out what is on the other side. And when we look back we will feel triumphant.
The journey is filled with hills and mountains. The true joy is remembering the ones you climbed up and over.

I hope this post has given you some food for thought. If you would like to show me (and Bruce Lee, my muse) some love today, please share this post with your social networks.

Peace :)

  1. #1 by Mel on November 23, 2010 - 7:20 pm

    Amber, this is powerful! It’s amazing how that lizard brain keeps us stuck. Squashing limits and embracing “can” is necessary for true growth. BTW, have you read your muse’s book? Awesome material (screwed up the first set of links). :P

    • #2 by amberinnyc on November 23, 2010 - 8:19 pm

      Thanks Melvin!

      And I am so glad you posted this link to Seth Goodin. I so need that post right now!

Leave a Reply

