Value in NOT sharing your dreams?

Many people say that you should always tell people your dreams. In fact,  these voices of wisdom  practically advise you to shout your goals from the rooftops.  The point of sharing your ambitions with the universe, say these peeps, is that you will feel a sense of accountability.

Hmmm…really?

A few weeks ago I watched a video of a speaker on TED, a website devoted to sharing ideas through videos of public speakers, who said quite the opposite. In fact, he said you should keep your dreams on lock down. You should not share them with anyone.   Why take a vow of silence when it comes to your dreams, you wonder?

Apparently some studies have found that when you relay your wishes out loud, you send a signal to your brain that transmits a feeling that is interpreted as if you have already accomplished the goal. Basically, you feel like you’ve really achieved something without really doing nothing more than waxing poetic out loud.

I thought this was revolutionary information.  And when you think about it, it makes sense. Saying what you PLAN to do out loud is the easy part. Actually putting that in motion so you can achieve something = hard part.

I don’t really like giving out too much information about my future plans because I find that people hold me to it.  Then when I don’t do what I might have said I wanted to do, three months ago, I get afraid that people will think I’m not working hard when the truth is I am a constantly evolving person.

Some people keep their ambitions to them selves to avoid dealing with the disappointment and unwanted attention that comes with failing to complete a goal. Do you think there is such a thing as keeping your lips zipped because you know you will get it done, and you don’t want to take any chances on anything getting in your way?

When it comes to your goals, what do you all think?
Share it? Or, Save it?

I tried my best to find the TED video that inspired me, but alas it is lost in the goodness that is TED. Just check out the site. It’s worth it.

UPDATE: I found the TED talk because an amazing thing happened today. A blogger that I follow,  A Black Girl’s Guide to Weight Loss, posted about this vid today, too. Her post deals with discussing your weight loss goals with others.

  1. #1 by THE DUCHESNE on November 4, 2010 - 12:24 pm

    ” I don’t really like giving out too much information about my future plans because I find that people hold me to it. Then when I don’t do what I might have said I wanted to do, three months ago, I get afraid that people will think I’m not working hard when the truth is I am a constantly evolving person.”

    That right there is how I feel. And I would add it makes me feel like I’m failing or I’ve failed.

    But….sometimes, particularly of late….I am finding that sharing my dreams ‘to the right people’…. produces positive result.

    So I think for me, I don’t like to speak my dreams UNLESS it is to individuals who can actually help me realise them.

    THE DUCHESNE
    http://www.theduchesne.blogspot.com

  2. #2 by jubilance1922 on November 4, 2010 - 12:55 pm

    Great topic & your thoughts mirror a lot of my own, when it comes to announcing your plans/goals to the world. Thanks for sharing.

  3. #3 by Torie Michelle on November 4, 2010 - 2:04 pm

    I don’t mind sharing some of my goals. It’s been my experience that people will hold you to whatever they’d like, whether you’ve announced it as a goal or not. People I went to high school with still ask me when my book (read as: novel) is coming out. I don’t recall ever telling anyone I was going to write one. They knew me as a poet, but I guess they’re thinking “writing is writing”….

    If someone wants to believe I’m not working hard, that’s okay. If I believe I am (and that has been validated by people who are important to me), and I am continually progressing, everything’s fine. While I may genuinely take it into consideration, the opinion of someone who is not currently in a position to further my progress can’t impede it.

  4. #4 by Yogi's Playground on November 4, 2010 - 3:00 pm

    It’s all about who you’re sharing it with! I have wonderful supporters…sometimes it seems as if they believe more in me than I believe in myself! ha! So it’s okay if you say one day I want to do this and then change your mind a week later….people are forever changing their moods, their minds, their mindset…I mean, it’s all good….if it helps to not share then don’t if it helps to share then do it….either way it’s up to YOU to get it done!

  5. #5 by Amanda on November 4, 2012 - 4:53 pm

    Also not everyone is in your corner. Even family members and close friends can discourage you from your dreams. That’s another eason to keep quiet.

Leave a Reply

