One day at a time

Yesterday, I was reading through the archives of The Happiness Project, one of the blogs I have been following for a few years now, when I stumbled upon this great post about ten tips from Pope John XXIII about how to live a better life, day-to-day.   The entire list was great , but tip number one struck me the most:  Only for today, I will seek to live the livelong day positively without wishing to solve the problems of my life all at once. Wow.

I can’t tell you how many times I have woken up and only thought about all the things I needed “to-do” or all of the things I haven’t been “to-doing.” Usually these thoughts are followed by an overwhelming sense of guilt. What would happen if tomorrow when you, or I, wake up, we only think about how we can live this day in a positive way?

My guess is our day would become more productive. Instead of fixating on all of the problems (the to-do’s) we can take the time to be present in the moment. We can be positive in the moment.

It takes some effort to think positive. I don’t believe it comes to anyone naturally. Anytime you are faced with a situation that is challenging you have to make the decision to think positive. It’s not always easy. But is it always the best choice? Pretty much.

The second part of the statement, “Without wishing to solve the problems of my life all at once,” is the part that really pulled me in. Pope John was on to something. It is impossible to solve all of your problems at one time. So why trouble yourself wishing that you could?

Today when I start to get annoyed by all of the things I can’t change today, right this second, right now, I am going to stop and acknowledge that I can’t change everything in one day. I have to take it day-by-day.  It might not be the easy, but I think it will help me on my journey to focus on the positive things.

Want to inspire someone else to think positively today? Pass this on.

You can read the post that inspired me here—–> The Happiness Project

  1. #1 by Reading Has Purpose on October 25, 2010 - 8:26 pm

    I love this post. I think I’m going to take it one step further and tomorrow, I will not try to solve ANY problems!

    I think its going to be a huge challenge to not think about or do anything. But I need to clear my mind – completely, to make way for new ideas. My brain is all cluttered with old stuff right now!

    Thanks for the link to this list and thanks for inspiring me :-)

    -Shannon

  2. #2 by Brittany on October 25, 2010 - 10:55 pm

    I definitely wake up every morning running my list of to-do’s thru my head the moment I open my eyes and it sets the tone for my rushed, hectic day. Will definitely try this out!

Leave a Reply

