Why do you rock?

This weekend I had the great opportunity to attend the first taping of the “Black Girls Rock” award show that will be shown on BET (Black Entertainment Television). Black Girls Rock is a nonprofit organization started by DJ Beverly Bond that strives to empower, mentor, and support young, black females.  This isn’t the first time they have held the awards, but it is the first time they are showing on national TV.

Without giving away all the deets (I don’t want to spoil it for you! The show is Sunday, November 7.), I will say that I left the theater feeling truly inspired for so many reasons. It was amazing to listen to all of these stories from/about women who are doing their thing.

On the long train ride home, I kept hearing the hook of the song for the show “This is why I rock” in my head. I hummed from the Bronx back into Manhattan. But somewhere on the way to Queens, I asked myself, “What would happen if we asked ourselves, ‘Why do I rock?’”

It’s a pretty basic question that in the quest for bigger, brighter, better, we can overlook easily. I’m in the business of motivating and empowering others through writing, which is an outward thing. But I totally believe in the value of turning inward from time-to-time to assess your spirit.

When I think about answering the “why do I rock” question I picture what it means to rock. The phrase “to rock” is very prominent when you think about it.  There is “rock steady,” “rock on,” “quit rocking the boat,”  and “rock with me baby.” In each definition it has an unchanging principle: movement.

All of the ladies I saw Saturday rock because they have all moved forward despite any obstacles they encountered on their journey.  Your personal mission may not be in the line of gaining success on a celeb level,but you still rock.  We can all rock; we can move forward through disappointments, fear, and feelings of uncertainty.

So, why do you rock? What is it about you that kicks ass?  You don’t have to share it with me (although I would love that), but please, share it with yourself today, every day, as many times a day as you need to.

Remind someone that they rock!  Share this post with your social networks.

  1. #1 by Yogi's Playground on November 4, 2010 - 2:51 pm

    I will be tuning in to that this Sunday!!! I rock beside I’m just bad ass! I have a big heart, I’m creative, I’m caring, and I’m just a great person who wants to lift everyone up with me as I make it to the top!! Rock on baby baby Rock on!!

Leave a Reply

