When being dependable is a fabulous thing

I rarely check my Facebook account on the weekends, but I did this Saturday and I’m glad I did.

One of my friends posted a link to a story in the St. Petersburg Times about a man killed in an hit-and-run bicycle accident. This article, the second the Times has written about this guy, was created in response to a nasty comment written online in response to the first piece.

A car hit Neil Alan Smith, 48, as he was biking home from his job as a dishwasher at the Crab Shack in St. Petersburg, Fla. He remained unconscious for six days before succumbing to his injuries.  What did the poster write that was so foul it spawned another article in a time when print resources are so scarce?  From the St. Pete Times:

“Shortly after the St. Petersburg Times announced Mr. Smith’s death on its website, a reader posted a comment stating the following: A man who is working as a dishwasher at the Crab Shack at the age of 48 is surely better off dead. ”

Woah.

SPT deleted the comment, promptly. Then they responded to such meanness in the only way a journalist can really reply back: by writing the story of a man who was known by few, but important to those who knew him. It was their way of showing that every life is meaningful.

On the quest to build a fabulous life, I think it can be easy to get caught up in letting the status quo define what you deem as fab.  The reader who posted that it is better to be dead than be a dishwasher certainly seems to have it twisted.

I pondered so many things after I finished the piece. Truthfully, I almost cried (I’m pretty sensitive at times).  In the quest of thinking about how all of my thoughts should translate into this post, one theme kept popping into my mind: relationships.

Not necessarily the relationship between you and your boo, but the way we relate to one another, the ways in which we, citizens of the world, connect with each other.

For so long we have been told that success equals bigger, better, faster, stronger-all in the form of material goods. But what about the thing that makes your life really fabulous: the people you touch.

Being a dishwasher may not be the most glamorous job, but the people who knew Mr. Smith described him as dependable.  How many dependable people do you know?

I write this today in tribute to those people, like Mr. Smith, who go often go unnoticed.  Being fabulous is not about what you have, it’s about who you are as a person.

Did this post make you think?  Feel free to pass it a long to all of the fabulous, dependable people in your life.

AJ

  1. #1 by Yogi's Playground on November 4, 2010 - 12:50 pm

    Being loyal, respectful and dependable is high on my priority list as far as the qualities that I look for in a friend and/or mate. I think that I’m very dependable therefore I’m extremely fab!! ha!! My mouth hit the floor when I read what the poster wrote! That’s just ridiculous!! It’s all about who you are because that’s what people will remember!

Leave a Reply

