Building your world from scratch

Have you ever wished you could erase some aspects of your life and start all over again?

What if you could manually edit your life? I imagine it would be like hitting a pause button, and then scrolling through your past, a giant eraser in hand to scratch out the parts you didn’t really like .

I was totally feeling this way last night. I was at Barnes and Noble, munching on my fav Resses Peanut Butter cookie, and thinking about the direction I want to take this blog in.  Before I could get all hyped up about all of the possibilities, the little voice of doubt chimed in.

You know that voice. The one that tells you that you can’t do something. The one that reminds you of past failures. The voice that tries to connivence you that you will never accomplish your goal.   The voice that reminded me I have abandoned blogs before. Yes, it is true. I’ve started several blogs only to leave them.

So what makes this time different?  Nothing really, other than my determination to replace the voice that likes to tell me what I can’t do, with the voice that says ” just try it”.

A big part of the reason I abandoned those other blogs is because I doubted my direction and focus. Truthfully, I never feel like I am the most focused person. My thought process is not linear, and I have a lot of interests. So I convinced myself that I could never produce something worth reading because it would be too all over the place.

The difference between then and now, is that I fully accept that yes, I am sometimes all over the place. Yes, I have varied interest, and no, this blog will never cover one topic. That’s just not me!

*Whew* Such a freeing thing to day.  Last week I went to a book launch party for one of my fav bloggers,  Chris Guillebeau, author of The Art of NonConformity. There was a woman in the crowd who expressed her frustration at having so many interests that she didn’t really know where to begin.  I was like ‘oh my gosh!’ She was a lady after my own heart. Chris’ advice to her was to stop worrying about a topic, and instead focus on a theme.  Maybe her theme is her randomness.

I thought this was excellent advice. As I was sitting there, these words came to mind: “Build your life from scratch”.

That is my thing,  my mantra, my motivation. That is what I am trying to do-build my life from scratch. That is what a lot of Gen Y’ers are trying to do.  The blueprint for the American Dream has been foiled. We’ve discovered it has some major holes in it. And some of us, such as myself, want more. We want to contribute something to this world. We want to build fabulous lives, but we are building them from scratch.

As this idea took shape, I decided to go back and read some posts from some of the blogs I abandoned. The subject matter is all over the place, but I noticed a common theme: freedom.

I started my first blog on MySpace back in 2007. I wrote about my life after college and how I was adjusting to becoming an adult over night. Subsequent blogs have covered everything from college life advice, to my move to New York. I noticed that all of the things I write are about pushing yourself to define life on your own terms.

So that is what The Fab Life Project is about. It’s a documentation of my journey to build my life outside of the status quo box, from the ground up. I don’t claim to be an expert at anything. I’m a storyteller, a writer, a documentarian. But I hope if you decide to follow me on my journey,  you take something from it.

Rock on,

A.J.

  1. #1 by Artieka Nicole on October 2, 2010 - 3:34 pm

    This feels like my life! Except I haven’t made the journey to NYC. Planning my big move Spring 2011. I like you have started and stopped blogs and am journeying through life all randomly.

    I def need to add you to my blogroll!

    • #2 by amberinnyc on October 13, 2010 - 11:53 pm

      Go for it!!!
      Moving can be scary, but you will be happy you took the leap!

      Love your blog, btw!

Leave a Reply

