No kitty cats allowed here

I talk about the power of positive thinking a lot.  It’s one of my passions. Even when I feel out of control of  my life, (I challenge you to find a twentysomething that doesn’t), I pride myself in my ability to think positive, no matter what.

Today the power of positive thinking is failing me.

It’s been over a month since I started apartment hunting, and I still don’t have a new place to call home. In one week, I will technically be well, kind of homeless. I know that is a broad comparison, but that is how down I am feeling about this whole thing. I’m frustrated. I want to scream.  Eye make up be damned, I want to cry.

I check my e-mail account obsessively. Another  “rented the room, good luck on your search!” message pops up.  Just when I am ready to excuse myself from my cube so I can cry, I hear a voice.

No, it didn’t sound like God.  It was actually the voice of the Material Girl.

“New York isn’t for little pussies who scream.”

Damn it, Madge.  It’s  a quote from her song called “I Love New York”. I remember dancing around to this when it first came out in 2005. Back then I had no idea that five years later, I too would love New York.  Living in this city is a beautiful hell, but no matter how frustrated I get, I make it work.  I will find an apartment. It will be one I actually like. I will think positive because there is no other alternative.

I will make it happen.

New Yorkers, be inspired:

  1. #1 by Shaminder on August 26, 2010 - 11:16 pm

    Hell yea! Glass half full Ambi! You’ll land a place soon.

    (and they DO like to golf in Texas)

Leave a Reply

