Live from Lima

Hola!

I am  coming at you live from a backpackers hostel in Lima, Peru. It´s the end of Day 3.  So far I have danced until 4 a.m., sampled some Pisco (Peru´s national drink), and I had to jump in the back of a moving taxi cab.

Also, I just accidentally ate some ice, so next time I write I might be giving tips for how to get past a case of travelers diarrhea.  Despite this last tid bit, I am enjoying my time in Lima so much.

For me this trip hasn´t really been about all the things I can see and do. The time I have got to spend with two of my favorite friends is what is making this time so special for me. I have laughed more in the last two days than I have in the last month.

It´s hard for me to keep tabs on my friends the way I would like to when I am busy doing life things in the Big Apple.  I never feel as if I have enough time to call people and have the type of conversation with them I really want to have.  It sucks.  I still haven´t figured out how I can change this.

Any suggestions?

  1. #1 by Sistah Rise on July 26, 2010 - 12:35 am

    Happy travels!!! I would love to go to Peru. What a big difference from NY huh?

    As you said, it’s TIME with your friends that you enjoy the most about your trip. Time is important in any friendship. Unfortunately, since we only have a set amount of time each day, it’s up to us to make the time we need to do whats really important to us.

    With the rise in technology, people don’t communicate as much or as well anymore. It’s gotten so impersonal. Sadly, this seeps into our friendships and even relationships. If you want and value your friends, please MAKE the time, set aside the time, to talk to your friends. Either on the phone or in person. Like you’re doing now. Nothing beats face-to-face though, if possible.

    You want to have conversation with your friends and its just not the same via text, email, or whatever new gadget they come up with. We are humans and we need to talk, see, and even touch eachother.

    Hope this helps!! Friends are Forever they say, but only if we work at cultivating and maintaining the relationship. Together we shall rise!! Have fun!! Say hi to friends in Lima!! :)

  2. #2 by amberinnyc on July 26, 2010 - 11:18 am

    Sistah Rose,

    I totally agree with you! Especially the part about technology changing the way we communicate. I will def check out your blog!

  3. #3 by Sistah Rise on July 26, 2010 - 10:34 pm

    Thank you and you’re welcome anytime.

Leave a Reply

