On the hunt again

It’s been over a year since I’ve had to do this.

I admit I’ve been pretty comfortable with the way things were going. There were a few times when I wanted to toss in the towel, call it quits. But I’ve held on. Mostly because I didn’t feel like putting myself out there. But the time has come for me to step out to seeks something better. I’m in full on search mode. I’m checking Craigslist everyday, hoping the perfect match will be there.

Thats right. I’m looking for a new apartment.

If you aren’t a New Yorker, you probably thought I was talking about finding a new man. For all the city dwellers out there, they know the deal. Apartment searching in New York is like looking for a new boo.  Worse, actually.

It involves some of the same components: dressing up, being on your best behavior, looking for a good match, rejection.

It’s almost like speed dating, or going on a job interview. You have to be the right mix of smart and funny.  Making a first impression counts. People are judging you. It’s nerve racking.

Last year when I was looking for a new APT, I must have seen about 7 different places, but no one was feeling me. I wasn’t a good fit. I tried not to take it personally, but it was a lot to handle when I was also feeling job market rejection as well.   I eventually nabbed a room in a prime location (train near by, laundry, restaurants, grocery stores). However, it’s above a bar and  directly in front of the train.  It gets a little crazy at times . There have been many Friday nights when I’ve had to elbow my way past drunks to get in my door.  On the upside, I can run out of my door when I hear the N train zooming by. I fully attribute any leg definition I have to a year of making a mad dash up the train platform stairs (there is just something sooo insulting about missing the train when you live right by it; I avoid doing this at all cost).

It’s times like these when I miss the ease of living in the South.  Back in the day, all I needed to do was pick up a local copy of “Apartment Guide” at WalMart and I was set.  Tune in as I update you on the joy of finding a new APT in the big city. Is it as hard as you’ve heard it to be?

We’ll see!

  1. #1 by Sistah Rise on July 26, 2010 - 12:41 am

    Best wishes on the new apartment hunt!! I know how it is, I used to live in NY. I so miss the food…pizza especially. Yum!! Feel free to check out my blog anytime.

  2. #2 by Yogi on November 4, 2010 - 12:15 pm

    Girl I feel ya!! Being a GA girl…man finding an apt was a piece of cake…finding a good apt….well that wasn’t always that easy…but don’t I miss the days where you pick the apt you want in the apt guide, call up the leasing office, tell them which month you’re looking to move by and they let you know, if they’ll have a vacancy around that time and then if they do you pay your $125 security fee and move in!

    But NY, girl stop!! Can we say it takes a lot of money to just move in!! They want the 1st months, the security fee (which is equal to your rent) and possibly a broker’s fee….and yes, its just like looking for a mate or a JOB!!

    But luckily I’m on my own now….and I really don’t intend to go back to the roommate days unless its with someone I already know!! :-)

    http://yolandaallen.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

